preloader

 

Definition of augmented reality

Augmented reality (or AR) is a technology that allows the integration of virtual elements in 3D (in real time) within a real environment. The principle is to combine the virtual and the real and give the illusion of perfect integration to the user.

Augmented reality: over 40 years of history

first experience of augmented reality

The first augmented reality system was designed in 1968 by Ivan SutherlandThe first augmented reality system was designed in 1968 by Ivan Sutherland, as part of his research at MIT's prestigious Boston University. At the time, it was a helmet with two lenses at eye level. It was connected to the computer by an articulated arm, hence the nickname given to it at the time: Damocles sword.
The experiment consists of displaying a 3D cube through the lenses. A computer recalculates the image and the angle of view to follow the user's head movements. This device lays the foundations for augmented reality.

 

 

In the 1980s, HUD (head-up displays) systems were developed, particularly in the army. This system allows some information to be displayed through a small transparent screen, located in the driver's field of vision.
These HUDs are currently used in some vehicles to display information such as speed, destination roads or signs encountered.

HUD in an aircraft cockpit

 

 

NASA's augmented reality headset

 

 

Subsequently, NASA also developed an augmented reality headset, foreshadowing the Microsoft Hololens 30 years later. Lightweight but requiring on-board computing, this tool allows operators to add an information overlay to physical elements. Several other similar projects will follow.

It was not until the 1990s that the term "augmented reality" was mentioned. Indeed, Tom Caudell and David Mizell, two employees of Boeing, developed a tool for the group's employees working on production lines. This system added a layer of information to certain elements of the line, making it possible to have a technical map attached to the physical element.

 

In 1994, Rekimoto and Takashi, two scientists working for Sony Computer lab, developed NaviCam, the first augmented reality system capable of reading markers. Very basic and fast, it allowed to launch textual information that was grafted to the real world through a helmet equipped with a HUD. The markers will become the reference support in order to fix virtual elements in the real by offering a very fast response time.

 

 

 

 

Markers: the first step in mobile augmented reality.

Markers are visual cues detected by the device to perform an action. They can take the form of an image or a symbol, but must above all offer a high contrast in order to optimise detection. They are used as markers to fix a 3D element through the camera, which is essential to the device.

However, markers will eventually disappear, thanks to the technological advances offered by Apple and Google. We will develop this part later in the page.

 

 

Smartphones and tablets, the ultimate stage of AR.

first mobile AR device

 

The first "mobile" version of augmented reality was developed in the late 1990s and required a backpack connected to a screen. The whole thing was heavy, cumbersome and drastically limited viewing capabilities. It was more of an experimental project than a real consumer tool.

However, this was a precursor to what mobile augmented reality would become. The advent of mobile phones, and more particularly smartphones, has made it possible to miniaturise this type of device: camera, screen and on-board computing have made it possible to develop truly mobile and relevant applications.

 

 

 

 

The ARKit/ARCore revolution

This technological advance comes from two American giants, Apple and Google, who have developed new augmented reality systems embedded directly in the operating system of smartphones and tablets.
Named respectively Arkit for Apple and ARcore for GoogleThese systems detect space, the user's position and ambient light. This allows the 3D element to be displayed and fixed on the scanned surfaces. With positional sensing, it is now possible to simulate a complete virtual room and move around inside it using a smartphone or tablet. We also use these technologies at Artefacto for our augmented reality applications such as Urbasee.

 

 

Augmented reality: a professional tool.

Unlike virtual reality, augmented reality was mainly developed for experimental and professional purposes (army, industry, etc.). Very quickly, companies understood the stakes of this technology and sought to appropriate it. However, technological barriers have long limited its use. It was necessary to use a computer, a screen and other cumbersome peripherals that were difficult to use in the field. With the advent of smartphones and tablets, the AR sector is booming and many companies are finding business purposes in their use. Let's take a look at them.

 

Augmented reality in real estate

The augmented reality in real estate has developed mainly via tablet-based visualisation tools. The possibility of previewing a building before construction is a real added value for professionals because it reinforces the capacity of projection of a potential investor and thus, greatly facilitates the marketing in VEFA.
In addition, it is possible to interact with the projected 3D model from the screen. This is primarily a functionality, and is most often integrated into an application offering other content on the project.
There are two "types" of augmented reality that are common in the real estate industry: on plan (or marker) and on site.

 

Augmented reality on a map

Augmented reality on a map (or marker) consists in displaying a 3D model by aiming at a 2D plan. Integrated into an application dedicated to the project, augmented reality on a marker is one of the key tools for the visualisation of a property in 3D.
It is also very attractive in the context of a real estate show and offers interactivity that will make it possible, for example, to remove floors, to offer access to maps, to download plans, etc. 360°It is a good way to get a feel for the property. It is a good alternative to physical models.

 

Augmented reality on a map

 

On-site augmented reality

augmented reality on a real estate site

 

On-site augmented reality offers the possibility of displaying a 3D model directly on the construction site at 1:1 scale. It provides excellent immersion and increases investors' projection capacity tenfold by bringing them face to face with the project in reality and gives a good overview of the integration of the architecture. However, it requires a visit to the construction site in order to "track" the reality and to fix the final project in 3D. It is therefore a very good complement to marker-based reality. In the case of a house builder, this technology can allow him to build a real catalogue of houses in 3D that he can project on his customers' land.

 

 

 

Augmented reality in industry

In industry, the augmented reality becomes an excellent way to promote a project: factory, production line, products.

It responds to a problem well known to industrialists: showing what is difficult or impossible to move, such as production lines or agricultural machinery at trade fairs, for example.
Integrated into a mobile application, it is possible to demonstrate its operation in a very faithful way. The flows or moving parts are animated (articulated arms, gears, characters, etc.) and make it easy to understand the operation of a machine or an object presented. Interactive parts can also be added, allowing access to additional elements of understanding: information sheets, zoomed elements, videos.

AR application for SPIE

 

Augmented catalogues: the ultimate sales tool?

There are also the catalogue applicationswhich allow products to be shown in augmented reality. This type of application is a new tool for the salesperson, or is available for free download, and allows a product to be integrated in 3D at real size, anywhere. Combined with an integrated purchasing system, it is possible, for example, to try out a sofa or a wardrobe at home to see if it is suitable, and to buy it directly from the application. A small revolution for e-commerce with this dematerialised fitting! Artefacto has also chosen to take this route to market its tool Urbaseewhich you can try for free.

augmented reality catalogue

 

AR in museums

The augmented reality in museums is also not to be outdone and several purposes exist. It can be used to project in 3D objects that have disappeared or are inaccessible, as part of reconstructions of the past.
It can also be perfectly integrated into playful applications with the display of augmented reality elements such as characters or points of interest that will enrich the visit and give visitors the opportunity to focus on architectural elements, for example. The objective for museums is therefore to offer enhanced, augmented visits by providing enriched content.
Augmented reality also serves as an educational tool for children, to manipulate and play in a cultural context and give them other keys to understanding. Integrated into a fun game, they will come out happy and above all full of knowledge!

Augmented reality in museums

 

A bright future for augmented reality

Increased awareness of augmented reality

Augmented reality experienced a major upheaval in 2016. Indeed, following the huge success of the smartphone game Pokémon Go! (the most downloaded application of all time), the notoriety of this technology has drastically increased, giving it the opportunity to be known by the greatest number of people. Augmented reality is now easily understood by the general public.

We can also mention Snapchat, which has been integrating augmented reality filters (lenses) for several years now. Without really knowing it, the general public is already using this technology!

The future of technology?

In fact, several solutions can be envisaged in the more or less short term.

Initially, the continuation of the ARKit and ARCore adventure for augmented reality on mobile seems to be the most promising short-term solution. Apple is extremely involved in augmented reality and is continuously improving its tool. The next update, available on iOS 12, brings several features such as multiplayer, as well as a new application integrated into the new OS.

In the longer term, the future of augmented reality is likely to lie in augmented reality headsets and glasses. Commonly referred to as " mixed reality", this technology can be defined as an enhancement to augmented reality. Initiated by Microsoft's Hololens in 2015, it is now followed by the Magic Leap One, or the Meta 2. The particularity of these headsets is that they scan the entire surface of a room, allowing any virtual object to be placed there. This could potentially be a revolution in the way we consume content. Imagine an infinitely changeable virtual overlay, visible to anyone wearing a device. Apple is also said to be on board, with a more than well-founded rumour talking about the development of augmented reality glasses for 2020. This would also fit in with the Cupertino firm's recent acquisitions of specialised companies.

As you can see, we are on the verge of a massive transformation of our digital content consumption.

 

Want to know more about augmented reality? Download our infographic!
Download

preloader

 

Définition de la réalité augmentée

La réalité augmentée (ou RA) est une technologie qui permet d’intégrer des éléments virtuels en 3D (en temps réel) au sein d’un environnement réel. Le principe est de combiner le virtuel et le réel et donner l’illusion d’une intégration parfaite à l’utilisateur.

La réalité augmentée : plus de 40 ans d’histoire

première expérience de réalité augmentée

Le premier système de réalité augmentée fut conçu en 1968 par Ivan Sutherland, dans le cadre de recherches au MIT au sein de la prestigieuse université de Boston. Il s’agit à l’époque d’un casque disposant de deux lentilles au niveau des yeux. Celui-ci était relié à l’ordinateur grâce à un bras articulé, d’où le surnom qu’on lui donne à l’époque : épée de Damoclès.
L’expérience consiste à afficher un cube en 3D à travers les lentilles. Un ordinateur recalcule l’image et l’angle de vue afin de suivre les mouvements de tête de l’utilisateur. Ce dispositif pose les bases de la réalité augmentée.

 

 

Dans les années 80, ce sont les systèmes HUD (Head-up displays ou vision tête-haute) qui sont développés, notamment dans l’armée. Ce système permet d’afficher quelques informations à travers un petit écran transparent, situé dans le champ de vision du pilote/conducteur.
On retrouve actuellement ces HUD dans certains véhicules afin d’afficher des informations tels que la vitesse, chemins de destinations ou encore les panneaux rencontrés.

HUD dans un cockpit d'avion

 

 

casque de réalité augmentée de la NASA

 

 

Par la suite, la NASA développe également un casque de réalité augmentée, préfigurant ce que sera le Microsoft Hololens 30 ans plus tard. Léger mais nécessitant de l’informatique embarqué, cet outil permet aux opérateurs d’ajouter une surcouche d’information sur les éléments physique. Plusieurs autres projets similaires verront le jour.

Il faudra attendre les années 90 pour que le terme « réalité augmentée » soit évoqué. En effet, Tom Caudell et David Mizell, deux salariés de chez Boeing, ont développé un outil destiné aux salariés du groupe travaillant sur les chaînes de production. Ce système rajoutait une couche d’informations sur certains éléments de la chaîne, permettant d’avoir un plan technique se fixant sur l’élément physique.

 

En 1994, Rekimoto et Takashi, deux scientifiques travaillant pour Sony Computer lab., développent NaviCam, le premier système de réalité augmentée capable de lire des marqueurs. Très basique et rapide, Il permettait de lancer des informations textuelles qui venaient se greffer au réel par le biais d’un casque équipé d’un HUD. Les marqueurs deviendront par la suite le support de référence afin de fixer des éléments virtuels dans le réel en offrant un temps de réponse très rapide.

 

 

 

 

Les marqueurs : première étape de la réalité augmentée mobile.

Les marqueurs sont des repères visuels détectés par l’appareil afin d’effectuer une action. Ils peuvent prendre la forme d’une image ou d’un symbole mais doivent avant tout proposer un contraste important afin d’optimiser la détection. Ils servent de repères afin de fixer un élément en 3D par le biais de la caméra, indispensable au dispositif.

Cependant, les marqueurs sont, à terme, amenés à disparaître, grâce aux avancées technologiques proposées par Apple et Google. Nous développerons cette partie plus loin dans la page.

 

 

Les smartphones et tablettes, étape ultime de la RA.

premier dispositif RA mobile

 

La première version « mobile » de réalité augmentée fut développée à la fin des années 90 et nécessitait un sac à dos connecté à un écran. L’ensemble était lourd, encombrant et limitait drastiquement les capacités de visualisation. Il s’agissait plus d’un projet expérimental qu’un réel outil grand public.

Ceci préfigurait malgré tout de ce que la réalité augmentée mobile allait devenir. L’avènement des téléphones mobiles, et plus particulièrement des smartphones a rendu possible la miniaturisation de ce type de dispositif : appareil photo, écran et informatique embarquée ont permis le développement d’applications réellement mobiles et pertinentes.

 

 

 

 

La révolution ARKit/ARCore

Cette avancée technologique est issue de deux géants américains que sont Apple et Google, qui ont développé de nouveaux systèmes de réalité augmentée embarqués directement dans le système d’exploitation des  smartphones et tablettes.
Nommés respectivement Arkit pour Apple et ARcore pour Google, ces systèmes détectent l’espace, la position de l’utilisateur et la lumière ambiante. Cela permet d’afficher et de fixer l’élément en 3D sur les surfaces scannées. Avec la captation de position, il est désormais possible de simuler une pièce virtuelle complète et de se déplacer à l’intérieur à travers son smartphone ou sa tablette. Nous utilisons d’ailleurs ces technologies chez Artefacto pour nos applications en réalité augmentée comme Urbasee.

3d ARCore démonstration technologie

 

La réalité augmentée : un outil professionnel.

Contrairement à la réalité virtuelle, la réalité augmentée fut majoritairement développée à des fins expérimentales et professionnelles (armée, industrie, etc.). Très vite, les entreprises ont compris les enjeux de cette technologie et ont cherché à se l’approprier. Cependant les barrières technologiques ont longtemps limité son utilisation. Il était nécessaire d’utiliser un ordinateur, un écran et d’autres périphériques encombrants, difficilement utilisables sur le terrain. Avec l’arrivée des smartphones et tablettes, le secteur de la RA est en plein boom et de nombreuses entreprises y trouvent des finalités professionnelles dans leur utilisation. Nous allons les passer en revue.

 

La réalité augmentée dans l’immobilier

La réalité augmentée dans l’immobilier s’est développée principalement via des outils de visualisation sur tablette. La possibilité de prévisualiser un bâtiment avant construction est une véritable plus-value pour les professionnels car cela renforce la capacité de projection d’un éventuel investisseur et donc, facilite grandement la commercialisation en VEFA.
De plus, il est possible d’interagir depuis l’écran sur le modèle 3D projeté. Il s’agit avant tout d’une fonctionnalité, et se retrouve le plus souvent intégrée dans une application proposant d’autres contenus sur le projet.
Il existe deux « types » de réalité augmentée répandus dans l’immobilier : sur plan (ou marqueur) et sur site.

 

La réalité augmentée sur plan

La réalité augmentée sur plan(ou marqueur) consiste à afficher un modèle 3D en visant un plan 2D. Intégrée dans une application dédiée au projet, la réalité augmentée sur marqueur est un des outils phare de la visualisation d’un bien immobilier en 3D.
Elle possède également une grande attractivité dans le cadre d’un salon immobilier et propose une interactivité qui permettra par exemple d’enlever les étages, de proposer un accès à des 360°, de télécharger les plans, etc. Il s’agit d’une bonne alternative aux maquettes physiques.

 

Réalité augmentée sur plan

 

La réalité augmentée sur site

La réalité augmentée sur site offre la possibilité d’afficher un modèle 3D directement sur le lieu de construction à l’échelle 1:1. Il permet une excellente immersion et décuple la capacité de projection des investisseurs en les mettant face au projet dans la réalité et donne un bon aperçu de l’intégration de l’architecture. Il nécessite cependant de se rendre sur le lieu de construction afin de « tracker » le réel et de fixer le projet final en 3D. Il s’agit donc d’un très bon complément de la réalité sur marqueur. Dans le cas d’un constructeur de maisons individuelles, cette technologie peut lui permettre de constituer un véritable catalogue de maisons en 3D qu’il peut projeter sur le terrain de ses clients.

réalité augmentée à taille réelle

 

La réalité augmentée dans l’industrie

Dans l’industrie, la réalité augmentée devient un excellent moyen de promouvoir un projet : usine, chaîne de production, produits.

Celle-ci répond à une problématique bien connue des industriels : montrer ce qui est difficile, voire impossible de déplacer comme les chaînes de production ou les machines agricoles lors des salons, par exemple.
Intégré dans une application mobile, il est possible de faire une démonstration de son fonctionnement de manière très fidèle. Les flux ou les parties mobiles sont animées (bras articulés, engrenages, personnages, etc.) et permettent d’aisément comprendre le fonctionnement d’une machine ou d’un objet présenté. On peut également y ajouter des parties interactives, permettant d’accéder à des éléments supplémentaires de compréhension : fiches informatives, éléments zoomés, vidéos.

application de RA pour SPIE

 

Les catalogues augmentés : outil de vente ultime ?

Existent également les applications catalogues, permettant de montrer des produits en réalité augmentée. Nouvel outil du commercial, ou disponible en libre téléchargement, ce type d’application permet d’intégrer un produit en 3D à taille réelle, et ce, n’importe où. Combiné à un système d’achat intégré, il est, par exemple, possible d’essayer un canapé, ou une armoire chez soi afin de voir s’il convient, et de l’acheter directement depuis l’application. Une petite révolution pour le e-commerce avec cet essayage dématérialisé ! Artefacto a d’ailleurs choisi d’emprunter cette voie pour commercialiser son outil Urbasee, que vous pouvez essayer gratuitement.

catalogue en réalité augmentée

 

La RA dans les musées

La réalité augmentée dans les musées n’est également pas en reste et plusieurs finalités existent. Elle peut être utilisée afin de projeter en 3D des objets disparus, inaccessibles, dans le cadre de reconstitutions du passé.
Elle s’intègre également parfaitement dans des applications ludiques avec l’affichage d’éléments en réalité augmentée comme des personnages ou points d’intérêts qui viendront enrichir la visite et donneront l’occasion aux visiteurs de se focaliser sur des éléments d’architecture, par exemple. L’objectif pour les musées est donc de proposer des visites améliorées, augmentées, en proposant un contenu enrichi.
La réalité augmentée sert également d’outil pédagogique pour les enfants, afin de manipuler, jouer dans un contexte culturel et leur donner d’autres clés de compréhension. Intégrée dans un jeu ludique, ils en ressortiront heureux et surtout rempli de connaissances !

La réalité augmentée dans les musées

 

Un avenir radieux pour la réalité augmentée

Une notoriété accrue pour la réalité augmentée

La réalité augmentée a connu en 2016 un bouleversement majeur. En effet, suite à l’énorme succès du jeu pour smartphone Pokémon Go ! (application la plus téléchargée de tous les temps), la notoriété de cette technologie s’est drastiquement amplifiée donnant l’opportunité de se faire connaître au plus grand nombre. La réalité augmentée est maintenant facilement comprise par le grand public.

On peut également citer Snapchat, qui depuis maintenant quelques années, a intégré des filtres (lenses) en réalité augmentée. Sans réellement le savoir, le grand public utilise déjà cette technologie !

Le futur de la technologie ?

À vrai dire, plusieurs solutions peuvent être envisagées à plus ou moins court terme.

Dans un premier temps, la suite de l’aventure ARKit et ARCore pour la réalité augmentée sur mobile semble être la solution à court terme la plus prometteuse. Apple est extrêmement impliqué dans la réalité augmentée et améliore continuellement son outil. La prochaine mise à jour, disponible sur iOS 12, apporte d’ailleurs plusieurs fonctionnalités comme le multijoueur, ainsi qu’une nouvelle application intégrée au nouvel OS.

A plus long terme, le futur de la réalité augmentée va probablement se situer dans les casques et lunettes de réalité augmentée. Communément appelé « réalité mixte », cette technologie peut être définie comme une amélioration de la réalité augmentée. Initiée par le Hololens de Microsoft en 2015, elle est aujourd’hui suivie par le Magic Leap One, ou encore le Meta 2. La particularité de ces casques est qu’ils scannent l’intégralité des surfaces d’une pièce, permettant alors d’y placer n’importe quel objet virtuel. Il pourrait s’agir potentiellement d’une révolution sur la manière dont on consomme les contenus. Imaginez une surcouche virtuelle modifiable à l’infini, visible par n’importe quel porteur d’un dispositif. Apple serait également de la partie, puisqu’une rumeur plus que fondée parlerait du développement de lunettes de réalité augmentée pour 2020. Cela collerait d’ailleurs avec les récents rachats d’entreprises spécialisées par la firme de Cupertino.

Vous l’aurez compris, nous sommes à l’aube d’une transformation massive de notre consommation de contenu numérique.

 

Envie d’en savoir plus  sur la réalité augmentée ? téléchargez notre infographie !
Téléchargez

 

INSCRIVEZ-VOUS À NOTRE NEWSLETTER !
 


Ne ratez rien de l'actualité d'Artefacto ! 
Tous les mois, recevez nos contenus d'experts
sur la réalité augmentée et virtuelle